top of page
  • The Horrific Network

[Review] Smiley Faced Killers Is Uncomfortably Good


The fear of someone watching you for non disclosed reason, the feeling that said person is getting closer. You want you reach out for help but it dosent seem any of your friends are too eager to believe you. That is the feelings portrayed by Ronen Rubinstein with his character Jake as we see a version of the Smiley Faced Killers story that captivated multiple detectives for a decade. The case centered around multiple collage students (all male) who would go missing and then turn up drowned and there was always a smiley face at the scene of the crime. Director Tim Hunter puts a face on the group committing the murders and they are lead

by the great Crispin Glover (Hooded Figure) who's work in this film is so creepy, that it makes me sad that this movie will probably be overlooked by the mainstream horror fan, which comes with a pandemic I suppose. The slow burn that develops into a really dark and scary story is something that I have a appreciation for. I also ask myself the question "If I was directing, would I change anything?" and the only thing to really change would be the look of the cult of killers, but after watching the movie again, I think the character design is actually perfect.

In closing, if you want a horror movie that isn't going to sit easy and is going to make you uncomfy during the holiday season, I definitely would suggest checking this one out!



73 views0 comments
bottom of page